Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor Review and Dream Casting

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grows dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherworldly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

Synopsis from Goodreads.com

My Review: 

Score 3/5

The world created by Laini Taylor is absolutely beautiful. Her gift for description is amazing, you devour her words and create a world like no other. Karou is not your average teenager, she leads a double life. In one she is your typical teenager, blue hair included, and in the other she calls chimera family and travels around the world collecting teeth. Teeth? Yes, teeth. Why? Karou doesn’t know herself. Brimstone, chimera and father figure, sends Karou on “errands” around the world. Her task is to collect teeth from hunters, grave robbers, and other unpleasant individuals in exchange for wishes. During one of these errands something unexpected happens. She meets the most beautiful creature she has ever seen, he in turn tries to kill her. Soon after, Karou’s only means of communication with her chimera family are cut. She is left stranded and alone in the human world. But is she really alone? Karou senses someone watching her, who? And why?

This book was a page turner. The mystery of the teeth and the mystery of who Karou really is had me glued to this book. Needless to say the ending left me wanting more, I need to know what happens next! The reason I only gave it 3/5 is because this is a romance novel. I was not aware that it was and as I am not a fan of romance, I felt that when the story focused on romance, it dragged. However, the love, passion, and longing between the characters was beautifully described. If you are a fan of romance and beautiful worlds, this is the book for you. Had this book focused a bit less on the romance and more on the other things happening in the book, I would have definitely given it a 5/5. This books also touches on prejudice based on race and appearance which I found to be very relatable since we live in a world where prejudice and racism are a problem.

DREAM CASTING: Karou
Main character / Teenager, dark eyes, blue hair, fair skin

Dream Actress:

Imogen Poots

As I was reading I imagined someone with similar features. Can you imagine Imogen with with blue hair, stunning! Sure, she has blue eyes but nothing contacts can’t change, if we want to be picky.

DREAM CASTING: Akiva

Main character, love interest / Tall, “fire/blazing” eyes, most beautiful creature anybody has ever laid eyes upon.

Dream Actor:

Jared Padalecki

This is pretty close to how Akiva is described in the book (in my opinion of course) except that Akiva has short black hair. So Akiva is supposed to be beautiful beyond comparison and not every body is going to agree that Mr. Padalecki is handsome, but his features are similar to what I imagined.

padalecki

DREAM CASTING: Zuzana

Best friend / Tiny and fierce

Dream Actress:

Hayden Panettiere

Fierce and petite, perfect.

Downloaded from www.sexydesktop.co.uk
Downloaded from http://www.sexydesktop.co.uk

Kaz

Ex-boyfriend, sleaze bag

Shoulder length blond hair, hot (for a human)

Dream Actor:

Jake Abel

To be honest, Jake Abel was who I imagined when I thought of Akiva, however, I figured Akiva should look older than Karou. Also, I’m not too sure about Jake’s physique and in the book Akiva is tall, well toned, with broad shoulders (if I remember correctly). I figured he would make a pretty good Kaz too though.

Jake Abel

Who is your dream cast? Do you agree with my choices?

I promise next time there will be  more diversity 😉

WOW! Well I was looking for the characters’ names because I forgot (I know shame on me) and it turns out that a MOVIE REALLY IS COMING OUT! Wow!

Leave a Reply

