Movies that made me want to read the book!

Like most people, I prefer to read the books before watching the movie adaptations. But there have been times when I’ve watched the movie first, usually because I didn’t know it was based on a book and, although rarely, sometimes because I had no interest in reading the book. Normally, I would feel that there was no point in reading the book after watching the movie since I know how it ends. However, there have been a few times where I loved the movie so much that it made me want to read the book even more!

These are the movies that made me want to read the book!

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

13

I absolutely love this movie. I’m not even sure how I came across it, but I’m so glad I did. This movie quickly became one of my favorites which lead me to look more into it, which is how I found out that it was based on a book! Since the books are always better than the movies, I just knew I had to read it! I figured the books had a lot more detail than the movies, and I figured that the books probably had a more satisfying ending too since it was actually a whole series!

Everything about this movie is so good, even the trailer cracked me up!

 

Going Postal

395949

After watching AND reading The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams, I was left with a bad case of book and author hangover. At this point Douglas Adams had become my new favorite author, sadly he had already passed away, and I had finished reading all of his books. The humor and wit in his books was like no other, and I desperately needed more of it! I asked my friends if they knew of similar authors and one of my friend recommended Terry Pratchett. I looked into his work and found out that one of his books had been made into a two part movie,  the movie was Going Postal. Terry Pratchett has a ridiculous amount of published books that I didn’t even know where to begin. So I decided to watch the movie first instead, just to get a tone of what his books might be like. Not even a minute into the movie and I knew I was going to love it. After watching the movie I decided that YES! I need Terry Pratchett in my life! And I went and got myself a copy of his first book “The Color of Magic.” It was magic~

I’m actually watching this movie as I type this post!

 

Odd Thomas

12845211

Fast forward a year and I find myself…bored. There’s nothing good on Netflix and there’s “nothing good to read”. I was browsing the movie categories on Netflix when a title caught my eye, Odd Thomas. I read the description and it seemed like something I would like. Boy, did I like it. OMG I love that movie. Odd Thomas is one of my favorite movies ever and Odd Thomas is my favorite protagonist too. Even Harry Potter couldn’t achieve that. I needed more Odd Thomas, I needed to know what happened next! Was there a sequel?! Sadly there was no sequel but there was a book, 6 books actually. I’ve now read the first 2 books of the series and loved them both. I can’t wait to read the 3rd!

I need to watch this movie again~

 

John Dies at the End

8017585

My most recent discovery was John Dies at the End. After watching Odd Thomas for the ~th time, I needed something new. Luckily for me, Netflix recommended John Dies at the End because I had watched Odd Thomas. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve watched John Dies at the End, It’s been months, maybe even close to a year, and it’s still as good as the first time. John Dies at the End is a bit… weird. So naturally I wanted to know if people had theories about what the hell it all meant. This is how I found out that it was actually based on a book! I figured the book had to be better than the movie and probably had more detail and information, as is usually the case, so I bought the book. I just finished it reading last week and I have to say that I still have no idea what this book is about, and I absolutely love it! I loved single page in this book, so much fun! It did take me a month to finish, but that’s because I’m slow and lazy. Luckily for me though, there is a sequel and I will be reading that too!

Ridiculously awesome!

 

Honorable mention: City of Bones. I wasn’t too excited about the books and I didn’t exactly like the movie. But, it was entertaining enough to make me want to give the books a chance.

Are there any movies that made you want to read the book? Does watching the movie first usually ruin the book for you?

3 thoughts on “Movies that made me want to read the book!

  1. Going postal was my first introduction to Discworld. It’s an amazing series. A lot you’d be able to read out of order.

    For instance, you could read Going postal straight away as it’s the first of Moist Von Lipwig series even though it isn’t the first Discworld novel.

    Welcome fellow Discworldian!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

