November Wrap-up!

This is my November wrap up, plus one book from October. I only read three books this month. Which to be honest, is more than usual. I usually read 1 or two so I’m a little proud! This month I read some pretty great books. I’m very happy with what I was able to read.

Click on the book titles to read the synopsis on Goodreads!

My thoughts on the books I read:

Odd Thomas: Forever Odd

12654519

SCORE: 5/5

WARNING: Potential spoiler if you haven’t read the first book or watched the movie.

Odd Thomas is my favorite protagonist. He is absolutely amazing. Even after losing Stormy he remains kind and brave. All he wants is to be with Stormy again, but he doesn’t let his sadness overcome him. He keeps fighting. This book was great. I was more emotionally invested in this book and I found it a little creepier. Nothing is scarier to me than someone so absolutely delusional they truly believe what they’re doing is ok. That amount of insanity is terrifying. The one thing I didn’t like about this book is the relationship between Odd and one of the characters. Odd describes this other character as a brother, however, in the first book this character was never mentioned. It just felt a little contrived.

John Dies at the End

8017585

SCORE: 5/5

OMG I loved this book! This book was so much fun to read! Cynical, sarcastic, and a lot more deeper and meaningful than it might initially seem. I’m not really sure how to describe this book. This book doesn’t have the typical heroic, brave, rise above it all type of protagonist. This protagonist is quite the opposite. He’s actually a pretty shitty person, but you like him either way. He’s not charming, but he does seem… relatable. That’s not to say  you can relate because you too are shitty, it just means that perhaps you can see your own faults in him. All the characters are interesting and likable.

 Fangirl

19174917

SCORE: 5/5

I loved this book. Cath is relatable, Levi is amazing, and Wren’s behavior is the type of behavior I never understood when I too was young and in college. It’s interesting that so many of us can relate with Cath. It’s amazing and so much fun! Although this book provoked quite a bit of feelings, I wasn’t fully immersed while reading. I’m not sure why. However, after finishing it and thinking about it I realized how much I truly love this book. Now every time I see the cover I get butterflies in my stomach and I feel nostalgia and super happy feelings.  I love this book!

Obsidian

12578077

SCORE: 4/5

I have to admit that what really pushed me to buy this book was the cover. I mean I thought it sounded very interesting and I wanted to read it, but what really pushed me to buy it ASAP was the cover. I mean… wow. Ah Daemon, Daemon, Daemon… boy, make up your freaken mind! Seriously, this hot and then cold thing is cute and exciting at first, but come on now. This book was so much fun. Despite what I said in the previous sentences, all the characters were pretty likable. It was fast paced and not too long. My only complaint is the occasional editing errors and that I wish the English had been a bit more sophisticated. I don’t mean the dialogues, I thought that was fine and true to how teenagers speak. However, the descriptions would have been a lot better if the language had had a little more depth. I will be continuing the series.

 

Have you read any of these books? What are your thoughts?

 

2 thoughts on “November Wrap-up!

  1. Ha! I loved your comment on Obsidian about what pushed you to buy the book was the cover. 90% of the books I read are based on their cover. I know it’s horrible and I am sure I am missing out on some good books. I love your blog and can’t wait to follow along! I hope you get a chance to check out my blog and hopefully find something you like 🙂
    http://www.boundtobeme.org/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

