[Review] Mort by Terry Pratchett

386372

Mort has become Death’s apprentice. The job’s not too bad. He gets food and a place to stay, some company, and time off. Best of all, Mort doesn’t have to be dead to take the position. Everything is going well until something unexpected happens. Mort falls in love. And what is the one inevitable consequence of love? People start making stupid decisions. Mort prevents the death of his love when in fact, he was there to collect her soul. Now reality is unraveling while Mort becomes more real than ever.

Score: 5/5

Mort is the first ‘Death’ book in the Discworld series. I absolutely love Terry Pratchett’s wit and humor. It is absolutely hilarious. Not only that, but anyone* can relate to the characters and their situations simply by being human. His ability to mix contemporary with humor and fantasy is pure genius.

This is the second Discworld book I’ve read, and I can’t wait to read more! If you’ve never read any of his books before, I highly recommend you start with this one. It is not necessary to read his very first published book to understand this one.

*by “anyone”, I mean people who had had a first job, people who have fallen in love, or people who have perhaps been too long at their current job and feel it’s time for a change. You know, the “adulty” type of people or people who have done “adulty” things.

6 thoughts on “[Review] Mort by Terry Pratchett

  1. I can’t wait to start reading Discworld, once I tackle my review stack I will start with Guards! Guards! (that’s what everyone recommends as a starting point) or should I start with the death books instead?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m pretty new to Discworld so I really couldn’t say which book is best. However, the reason I started with the Death books is because someone said they were the best ones to start with, plus Mort sounded like my kind of book. The first book I read was The Colour of Magic and while it was great, it took me a long time to finish it. The beginning was a little difficult to get into. I actually recommend you save that book for later.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: December Wrap-Up | rakioddbooks

Leave a Reply

