[Review] The Little Prince

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

157993

Moral allegory and spiritual autobiography, The Little Prince is the most translated book in the French language. With a timeless charm it tells the story of a little boy who leaves the safety of his own tiny planet to travel the universe, learning the vagaries of adult behaviour through a series of extraordinary encounters. His personal odyssey culminates in a voyage to Earth and further adventures.

-Goodreads

Score: 5/5

I first read The Little Prince when I was in high school and I remember not liking it. I don’t know why I didn’t like then, I think it just wasn’t what I was expecting.

So, about a decade later and I read The Little Prince for the second time, and I loved it. I have to admit that when  I first started reading the book the Little Prince did annoy me in the way children sometimes annoy adults with all their questions. And that’s when I realized that I could relate to this book. I was very much one of the adults in this story! As I read about the types of adults The Little Prince encountered I remembered a time when I was young and how it clear it was to me what type of adult I never wanted to be when I grew up. I also took the time to think about the kind of adult I am now. Overall, this book was beautiful, but perhaps the most beautiful thing about this book was the dedication in the beginning. It almost moved me to tears. Not to mention the end was just moving.

I don’t regret not having liked The Little Prince when I first read it. I guess I just wasn’t ready for it. But I am so glad I have it another chance.

4 thoughts on “[Review] The Little Prince

  1. I think I was the same way as you back when you were in high school because I found myself annoyed at the little prince. The little prince was an interesting story to me and it shown me perspectives that never really clicked in my mind until I read the story. Sadly, the book wasn’t perfect to me so it didn’t receive a high rating in my heart. haha! thanks for the review! And if you have time, check out my blog sometime? I started it up yesterday and I’m trying to find wonderful blogs like yours to follow ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: January Wrap-Up! – rakioddbooks

Leave a Reply

