Throwback January – Movies

I probably should have posted this on Thursday in honor of Throwback Thursday, but I didn’t, so here it is!

This month I watched a few movies I first watched when I was a kid-tween. And you know how when you’re little and you watch a scary movie it’s terrifying, but then you watch it again when you’re older and you realize how lame it really was? Well, these movies are nothing like that. These movies are just as good now that I’m 27 as when I first watched them.

The first movie I watched was The Addams Family. I love this movie. I’ve been watching it at least once a month for about 2 years, and it doesn’t get old. There is something that puzzles me about this movie, and that is the opening song. I only remember watching the movies. I don’t remember watching the original TV show, the remake, or the cartoons, yet, I know the original song. How is that even possible? I wonder how it is that I came to hear the original soundtrack. And I actually remember, clearly, knowing the song before watching the movies. And another thing, I don’t remember watching The New Addams Family TV show, however, when I watched the opening of the episode I completely recognized the actors. I’m assuming I watched a few episodes then stopped or something.

The Addams Family movie trailer

I also watched The Addams Family Values.

The Addams Family Values movie trailer

The Addams Family original opening:

Another amazing movie I watched was Casper. Such a good movie. And did you guys know that the kid who plays Casper in that one scene is the guy from Final Destination and the guy in Eminem’s video – Stan? I love this movie so much, it still makes me teary. There’s something I would like to discuss about this movie, so if you’ve seen it and remember it, please highlight the blank so you can see my question. Begin spoiler** Remember how when Casper is telling the girl, gosh i forgot her name, about his dad’s invention and how the red liquid is what makes it work. And she’s holding the bottle and he tells her to be careful because it’s the last one? Did you guys noticed that there are semi empty bottles next to it? That means that his dad used it before and brought something back to life! What did he bring back to life?! Better yet, who?! And we know it works, since the red liquid had already been completed. I would have loved to have seen that in a flashback or something. That would have been so cool! Isn’t it cool?! ** End spoiler. Another puzzling thing, I remember knowing about Casper before watching the movie, I wonder if I watched the cartoon at some point with my mom. She too used to love Casper. I highly recommend the Casper the Friendly Ghost cartoons. I played an episode for my students and they loved it.

Casper movie trailer

 

I also watched Casper Meets Wendy, but it’s not as good in my opinion.

Casper Meets Wendy movie trailer

Do any of you remember Disney’s Tower of Terror? I had completely forgotten about it! After watching Casper (which you can watch on YouTube!) Tower of Terror came up as a recommendation. I was a bit older when I watched this movie, but I remember liking it a lot. And I have to say that it was very enjoyable to watch again. Man, Disney movies used to so good! It’s a pity that you can’t really find these anywhere.

Fanmade Tower of Terror movie trailer. I couldn’t find an official one.

The last movie I watched was The Haunted Mansion. Again, another great movie. And I realized that Eddie Murphy was very much a part of my youth. I grew up watching his movies. Whatever happened to him?

The Haunted Mansion movie trailer

Did you watch any of these movies as a kid? Have you watched them recently? Did you like them?

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

After watching these movies I felt inspired to make a list of the other Disney Channel movies I remember watching as kid that I would like to watch again. I’m pretty sure I’m missing some. Do you remember any of these?

  • Susie Q
  • The Luck of the Irish (I LOVED this movie, it was my first time hearing the Irish accent and I fell in love with it.)
  • Wish Upon a Star
  • My Date With the President’s Daugher
  • Brink!
  • Zenon: Girl of the 21st Century
  • Zenon: The Zequel
  • Smart House
  • Johnny Tsunami
  • Don’t Look Under the Bed
  • The Thirteenth Year
  • Model Behavior
  • Stepsister From Planet Weird
  • Phantom of the Megaplex
  • Mom’s Got a Date with a Vampire
  • Motorcrossed
  • Double Teamed
  • The Even Stevens Movie
  • Gotta Kick It Up
  • The Cheetah Girls
  • Under Wraps
  • Halloweentown (OMG I love this movie)
  • Genius
  • Cadet Kelly
  • And that Hillary Duff movie where they go to Italy and she trades places with a pop star… what’s it called?
4 thoughts on “Throwback January – Movies

Leave a Reply

