[Review] Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

5899779

“It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains.”

So begins Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, an expanded edition of the beloved Jane Austen novel featuring all-new scenes of bone-crunching zombie mayhem. As our story opens, a mysterious plague has fallen upon the quiet English village of Meryton—and the dead are returning to life! Feisty heroine Elizabeth Bennet is determined to wipe out the zombie menace, but she’s soon distracted by the arrival of the haughty and arrogant Mr. Darcy. What ensues is a delightful comedy of manners with plenty of civilized sparring between the two young lovers—and even more violent sparring on the blood-soaked battlefield. Can Elizabeth vanquish the spawn of Satan? And overcome the social prejudices of the class-conscious landed gentry? Complete with romance, heartbreak, swordfights, cannibalism, and thousands of rotting corpses, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies transforms a masterpiece of world literature into something you’d actually want to read.

-Goodreads

Writing (world building, characters, style, etc.): 

This book should have been called “A Bunch of Idiots and Zombies”. Seriously, this book is about a bunch of idiots, and I suppose this is where the comedy lies. Also, there’s this one joke said a few times throughout the book that made chuckle. I didn’t like the style at first. It wasn’t difficult or slow, however, I couldn’t fly through it due to the language which irritated me a little. I had a deadline and it just felt like it was taking too long. As for the characters, Elizabeth needs to calm down. I really hate overly aggressive female protagonists. The ones that get angry and everything and anything. To her credit, toward the end she got pretty feisty when it actually mattered. I don’t have that strong of an opinion on Mr. Darcy since he wasn’t that much in the book, only toward the end. At first I thought I liked him the best, but after giving it some thought, I realized he’s pretty horrible too. Seriously, they’re idiots, but then again that’s the point. The rest of the characters were pretty flawed, only a couple were redeemable. And in my 20 years of reading, I had never so violently hated a character as much as I hated Lydia. How I wished I could have jumped into the book and chop off her head. Also, some of the action scenes were just too ridiculous.

Did I learn anything? Did it make me think?

Sure, pride and prejudice makes idiots of us all and we don’t even realize it. Also, they sure loved to gossip back in the day. The ending was a bit disappointing as well. I don’t understand why the women had to leave behind part of who they were. It doesn’t make sense since that’s the whole reason Mr. Darcy fell in love with Elizabeth. It makes no sense!

Overall feelings:

This book was alright. I mostly just tolerated the characters, but it was still enjoyable enough to keep reading. The pacing was good, but the small font and language made it feel really long. I think this is part of a trilogy. I don’t think I will be continuing. 

 

Score: 3/5book 3 icon

 

4 thoughts on “[Review] Pride and Prejudice and Zombies”

Leave a Reply

