What my 6th grade Korean students will be reading

The new school year is about to start and I happened to see some textbooks laying around in the teacher’s lounge. To my surprise, in between the  textbooks,  I saw a stack of copies of Wonder by R.J. Palacio! I’m not sure what class this is for, but it’s so exciting!

Although my students, and I think younger students in general, are very good at accepting classmates that might have disabilities, Korea overall still has a problem with discrimination against those mentally and physically disabled.

Not so long ago, I read an article where a student with a learning disability was expelled from his high school after “concerned” parents made a petition to the school to expel him. Their reason was that his behavior was disrupting the other students’ learning.

That’s why this is so exciting! In teaching students about people with disabilities this awful prejudice against them can be eradicated.

The Korean title of the books translates to “Beautiful Child”, if I’m not mistaken.

6 thoughts on “What my 6th grade Korean students will be reading”

  1. I bought the book on a whim a year ago, but when I read it I was glad I bought it!! Its such a moving book, a great lesson on acceptance. I recommend it to everyone who loves to read XD and its great that you are going to introduce kids to this book.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome!! This will be my last month as a teacher in Korea, it’s been great!
      Thank you for stopping by! And Happy National Book month! May all your bookish dreams come true~

      Like

Leave a Reply

