[Review] The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

28186

The heroic son of Poseidon makes an action-packed comeback in the second must-read installment of Rick Riordan’s amazing young readers series. Starring Percy Jackson, a “half blood” whose mother is human and whose father is the God of the Sea, Riordan’s series combines cliffhanger adventure and Greek mythology lessons that results in true page-turners that get better with each installment. In this episode, The Sea of Monsters, Percy sets out to retrieve the Golden Fleece before his summer camp is destroyed, surpassing the first book’s drama and setting the stage for more thrills to come. – Goodreads

Writing (world building, characters, style, etc.): 

This was another great book. Easy to get into, easy to read, action packed and just downright exciting! Love it! However, like with the last book, I had some very minor issues with the writing. There were just times where the writing didn’t match. The story is told from Percy’s point of view, a 12 (or is it 13) year old, however, there were times when Rick Riordan used expressions that I, in my 27 years of life, have never heard 12 year olds use. Well, it was just one expression, “fore and aft”. Seriously, what 12 year old says that? I’ve never heard one say it, actually, I have never heard anyone say it. Even though it’s such a minor thing, it still made what I was reading feel a little disconnected. Like for a second, I wasn’t seeing things from the eyes of a 12 year old, and instead it was like an old guy telling me his story from when he was a kid. And even though it bothered me, and I’ll probably complain about it some more in future books, it was not a deal breaker. I feel like these books will just get better and better and I can’t wait to continue reading the series!

I really enjoy how Rick Riordan incorporates characters from other stories, celebrities, and other famous people in his books. I love it when authors do this. 

Percy annoyed me a little bit in this book. It just feels like even after all he went through he’s still trying to deny who he is and what Gods and monsters are real. I understand that he’s only just found out who he really is, but come on! He keeps ignoring his intuition and tries to rationalize things as a regular mortal, which he is not, he knows better now. Did he learn nothing from his previous quest?!  Every time he go in trouble was because he ignored his intuition even though the signs were pretty obvious.  *sigh* As much as I disliked this, I do like how it makes the character seem more real, I can imagine any 12 year old in this situation would feel the same way. 

**POSSIBLE SPOILERS IF YOU HAVEN’T READ BOOK 1!!** SERIOUSLY, STOP…..NOW

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

Did I learn anything? Did it make me think? 

Not really, but I  think I might have an unpopular opinion. You know what, I like Luke and I don’t think he’s wrong. I don’t think what he’s doing is right, because it’s not, but his reasons don’t feel that wrong either. Yes, I think he’s just being manipulated and he’s going to feel pretty stupid once he realizes how wrong he was and things probably won’t end well for him (sad), and yeah maybe he’s just being a bit childish, but… I don’t disagree with him.  

Fuuuuuuuuuu*******~~~~~!!!! I just spoiled myself. Yup. So, I was looking at pics of Jake Abel, because I wanted to comment on how he would always be Luke for me. Then I decided to see if I could find a picture of Luke as described in the books to do a comparison and I stumbled upon this wikia page and… yeah. Spoiled myself.  

But then again, I feel like in the movie… so I wan’t really that surprised because I vaguely remember, but now it’s been confirmed so it feels like a spoiler! Dang it! Now I can’t continue reading until years pass and I forget what I read!

Overall feelings

I really liked this book! 

Score:book 4 icon

3 thoughts on “[Review] The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

  1. Glad you liked the second one! It’s been quite awhile since I read the series and I’m starting to forget things…I think this calls for a reread. Haha, my favorite book of the series is the very last one. That one’s pretty epic. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

