[Review] Death by Didgeridoo by Barbara Venkataraman

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000032_00038]

Reluctant lawyer, Jamie Quinn, still reeling from the death of her mother, is pulled into a game of deception, jealousy, and vengeance when her cousin, Adam, is wrongfully accused of murder. It’s up to Jamie to find the real murderer before it’s too late. It doesn’t help that the victim is a former rock star with more enemies than friends, or that Adam confessed to a murder he didn’t commit.

– Goodreads

Writing (world building, characters, style, etc.):

Well this was fun! This is the second cozy mystery I’ve ever read and I actually really enjoyed it. I don’t have much to compare it to in terms of other cozy mysteries, but over all it was an enjoyable read. The author’s style is easy to get into and it hooked me immediately. I really liked the protagonist, Jamie Quinn, even though she’s going through a rough patch in her life I still found her to be  strong, professional, realistic, and not whinny at all!

Even though I have no knowledge about legal procedures, the way the author explained things was informative and easy to understand. I assume it’s also well researched since the author herself is attorney specializing in family law.

This book also features a character with a mental disability, Adam has Asperger’s syndrome. It was interesting to see how the law works when the accused have a mental disability. And it made the mystery that much more interesting, it felt like there was more at stake.

Did I learn anything? Did it make me think? 

I learned many things about law and a little bit about hypnotherapy. I don’t remember what I learned, but I remember thinking, “Wow, that’s so complicated, but it makes sense.” It also made me wonder how many people have been falsely accused to due to a false confession brought about by their mental disability. Or how many people have been cleared even though they were guilty, due to their mental disability.

Overall feelings: 

If you’re in the mood for a cozy mystery or a fun quick read, I recommend this book. It’s only around 100 pages. I loved it!

Score: book 4 icon

Leave a Reply

