[Review] The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo

37186

Once, in a house on Egypt Street, there lived a china rabbit named Edward Tulane. The rabbit was very pleased with himself, and for good reason: he was owned by a girl named Abilene, who treated him with the utmost care and adored him completely. And then, one day, he was lost. Kate DiCamillo takes us on an extraordinary journey, from the depths of the ocean to the net of a fisherman, from the top of a garbage heap to the fireside of a hoboes’ camp, from the bedside of an ailing child to the bustling streets of Memphis. And along the way, we are shown a true miracle — that even a heart of the most breakable kind can learn to love, to lose, and to love again.                   – Goodreads

Writing (world building, characters, style, etc.):

I had a little bit of trouble getting into Kate DiCamillo’s writing style. I especially had trouble with the dialogue. It’s just not a style I’m used to I suppose, and her writing felt a little choppy. However, either I got used to it or the style changed throughout the book, but by the end it didn’t feel choppy anymore. The characters were amazing. Even though they only took up a couple of chapters, they were described so beautifully that they left a lasting and deep impression. You felt like you knew who they were, what they were like. They were all so real and their situations so touching and sometimes heartbreaking.

Did I learn anything? Did it make me think? 

Where to begin? This book was so beautiful and emotional.Through this book I experienced love, loss and sacrifice. There was also hope and appreciation. Edward Tulane reminded me of myself when I was younger. I used to be a loveless person, though I cared for others I never felt I actually loved them. Now that I’ve experience more and learned more, I appreciate the people in my life more than anything, and I’m so incredibly grateful for having people who love me unconditionally.

Overall feelings: 

I feel like everyone should read this book at some point in their lives. Especially if you are the type of person who takes pride in not loving anyone.

Score: book 5 icon

Leave a Reply

