[Review] A Series of Unfortunate Events: A Bad Beginning

297671

A Series of Unfortunate Events: A Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket

Writing (world building, characters, style, etc.):

I really like the characters in this book, even the villains. They’re all so unique and interesting and so much fun to read! I wish the writing wasn’t so simple but, as this is a children’s book, it’s to be expected. I love the cover art and over all look of the book. I don’t know if I would call it beautiful, but this series has some of the most attractive covers I’ve ever seen.

Did I learn anything? Did it make me think? 

I LOVE the A Series of Unfortunate Events movie. I don’t know if it’s because I hadn’t read the books when I first watched it, or if it’s because I grew up watching Jim Carrey movies and I was a bit biased, but man, I love that movie. I loved it so much that I actually didn’t like the book when I first read it because it was too different from the movie. I remember I found the book a bit boring. Though the disappointment was quite great, it was always in the back of my mind. I never really stopped thinking about this series. So, many years later, I finally decided to buy the whole thing and read it!

As with most books I finally decide to read, I’m really glad I did. A Bad Beginning is fast paced, interesting with unique characters and an unique world, and it doesn’t have a happy ending. I want it to have a happy ending of course which is why I HAVE TO KEEP READING! The excitement is too great! I must stop typing now so I can go read, forget this review.

Overall feelings:

Book is great, read it! You will love all the characters, the protagonists are probably some of the most likeable children in the history of ever! I think this is incentive enough.

Score: 4/5 book 4 icon

7 thoughts on “[Review] A Series of Unfortunate Events: A Bad Beginning”

  1. I’ve been slowly rereading through this series (and reviewing them on my blog as well!) and am currently on the seventh. In my opinion, they get a bit tedious on the third/fourth — but quickly become much better! Snicket eventually loses the child gloves he treats the readers with and makes it a much more action-packed gripping series, so stay tuned for more greatness!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to LOVE this series when I was younger – I still own them all now because I loved them so much (plus it took me ages to get all 13 books so I’m not giving them up anytime soon!). I remember really liking how the author would talk specifically to you, where you’d see snippets of how he’s connected to the story, or when he takes a small step out to explain what a phrase means 🙂 This review made me feel really nostalgic! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read I think 4 of them and then stopped, but I’d really like to go back and read them all because they are so cute! I think the reason I stopped was because they definitely get repetitive, both in writing style/jokes and with the plot lines.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

