[Tag] Birthstone Book Tag

Tag was found @imanadventurest and @FableHaven. I was tagged by DrAwkto at The Inky Awkto, please check out their answers!

Garnet (January): Associated with warding off negative forces and dark energiesName a book with the darkest/evilest character you can think of.

Forever Odd by Dean Koontz. The villain and her minions are just evil and insane. There’s no dark backstory or objective, they’re just evil and batshit crazy.

Amethyst (February): Purple is associated with royaltyName a book with regal qualities. You can base this off of characters or choose the King of all books.

In my opinion, the king of all books is The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide by Douglas Adams. It’s a compilation of the books in the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series, plus one story. I love that book so much and, not counting Harry Potter, the first “beautiful” book I ever bought. It’s faux leather with gold letter and stuff. It looks pretty cool.

Aquamarine (March): Washed Out. Name a ‘wishy washy’ character. A character who is not strong or a follower. 

Tally from Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies. She’s a follower in the beginning, but she quickly learns that not everything is as it seems. Though she does choose a side and stands up for what’s right, I don’t really consider her a strong character yet.

Diamond (April): A Diamond in the rough. Named a book that you loved, but that is not well known.

Spellbinder by Helen Stringer. I remember I absolutely loved this book when I first read it. I haven’t read it in many years so I don’t know how I would feel about it now, but it’s still one of my top books and it’s sadly gone virtually unnoticed. It only has 1,033 ratings on Goodreads.

Emerald (May): Said to balance energy.  – Name two characters who balance each other well.

Max and Kevin from Freak the Mighty by Rodman Philbrick.

They’re so well balanced in fact, that they became one (not literally). Such a beautiful book!

Pearl (June): Associated with loyalty. – Name a character who is loyal to the end. 

Does manga count? If it does then Gintama from Gintama by Hideaki Sorachi. Man, I honestly wish I had someone like him on my side. The friendships and bonds in this series are amazing.

Ruby (July): Blood red. Name a book that made your blood boil, one that made you angry. 

Wicked by Gregory McGuire. Hated.every.single.character!

Peridot (August): Pale green (it pales in comparison to other gems). Name a supporting character who you like better than the main character. 

Luke from the Percy Jackson series. I like Luke probably a little more than all the other characters. Sure, maybe he’s going about it all wrong, but he makes a good point.

Sapphire (September): Blue like the ocean which is calming.  Name a book that had a calming effect on you.

The Name Of This Book Is Secret by Pseudonymous Bosch. All the books in this series put me in a good mood. I wouldn’t say “calming” but definitely good. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book that made me feel calm, the emotions are too strong.

Opal (October): Iridescent. Name an iridescent book, this can be a book with a beautiful cover (Shiny? Lots of colour?) or you can base it of a character (Quirky? Colourful?)

Snuff by Terry Pratchett. The colors of that cover and quite nice with shiny gold letters.

Topaz (November): Associated with resilience. Name a book with a character who rises to the top in a time of adversity.

Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz. Favorite.protagonist.ever! Odd has gone through such adversity, yet he never gives up or complains.

Blue Zircon (December): Associated with friendship.Name a book with a friendship you want to be a part of.

I’m going to have to go with Gintama again. Seriously, can we be friends?

 

Once again, thank you DrAwkto for tagging me! I had a lot of fun doing this tag.

I would like to tag Cinderzena, Vicky and RiverMoose

5 thoughts on “[Tag] Birthstone Book Tag

  1. Pingback: Birthstone Booktag – The Inky Awkto

  2. Pingback: Birthstone Book Tag | RiverMoose-Reads

Leave a Reply

