[Review] The Wide Window by Lemony Snicket

438492

The Baudelaire children’s misfortune continues. This time they’re under the care of their Aunt Josephine, a woman who’s too scare of the stove to cook warm meals, too scared of the phone to make emergency calls, and too scared to even try to protect the children under her care. However, the children care for her and she, in her own way, cares for them too. Have the children finally found their happily ever after? 

Writing (world building, characters, style, etc.):

I found the writing in this book a little boring. It was a bit repetitive, we were given information that was previously given in books 1 &2, not only that, but it was given more than once in the book too. I don’t know why the author would do this, perhaps he was trying to emphasize something and I just missed it. Either way, this didn’t dissuade me from continuing the series and I’m looking forward to reading more.

Did I learn anything? Did it make me think? 

I don’t really understand why people seem to really dislike the movie adaptation. As a movie alone it was pretty entertaining, and even though some changes were made regarding the book, I think they were done for the better. It certainly made the movie that much more exciting.

Overall feelings: 

A little boring, but I’ll continue the series.

Score: 3/5 book 3 icon

Leave a Reply

