[Review] Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

23437156

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Goodreads

 

Score 2.5/5

I read this book as part of a buddy read and I’m sad to say that both my friend and I were equally underwhelmed by this book.

Things I liked

I found the characters’ backgrounds and situation unique and interesting. I also liked the author’s style, it was easy and fast to read. My favorite part of the story was the chapter on Kaz’s background. It was heartbreaking.

I liked the characters, or at the very least, I didn’t find them that annoying.

Things I didn’t like

At first I liked the different points of view. It was a really good way to introduce the characters’ backgrounds. However, there were times when the same scenario was described from multiple points of views, which I soon found boring. I felt it kept the story from moving forward and getting to the point.  I actually skipped a few parts from a couple of chapters. I just didn’t care to read the same information, more than once, just worded differently.

I found the story to be, overall, very predictable.

This book is riddled with the “perfect character” trope. All these characters are flawless, or I suppose in this case, perfectly flawed. They’re all good at being criminals, perfect criminals. Don’t even get me started on Kaz. I was hoping something would go horribly wrong, that someone would take Kaz down a peg or two. But that didn’t happen, and I was bored.

Conclusion

I didn’t hate this book, it’s not bad, I didn’t have to force myself to keep reading. But I did complain about how slow it was progressing and how nothing really happened most of the time. While I liked the characters and their stories, they were just too “perfect” which meant there was really never any sense of danger or tension. I’m glad this was a buddy read, otherwise I probably would have put the book down and forgotten about it.

One thing I told my friend 10 chapters in was, “I really hope this book doesn’t end on a cliff hanger”. Well… now I don’t know if I should continue the series and hope the second book is better or if I should just forget about it. My previous experience with a certain vampire series tells me I just just forget about it, but part of me wonders if I should give it a try anyway. Sigh

Have you read Six of Crows? Did you like it? Have you read the second book?

 

 

3 thoughts on “[Review] Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo”

  1. I’m glad to finally read a review by someone who didn’t absolutely love this book. I own both books in the duology so I was planning to binge read them next month, as everyone just raves about them. But I’m thinking now I may not do that. I don’t think I’ll enjoy rereading the same situations in multiple POVs, as I can totally see where that can get repetitive and a bit boring.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no! I hope I didn’t dissuade you from reading the series if you really wanted to! The second half of the book does get better in terms of the POVs. The chapters aren’t as repetitive. But… I still stand by everything else I said :\

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

