[Mini review] Beastly Bones by William Ritter

24001095

Beastly Bones (Jackaby #2) by William Ritter is the continuation of what is quickly becoming one of my favorite series. Soon after their first case came to a close, Detective Jackaby and Miss Abigail Rook head off to a small town in New England to solve the case of a missing dinosaur tooth. If only it was a simple case of thievery. Bones are being stolen and then returned, there are beastly foot prints in the dirt, baby goats and sheep are getting eaten, and dinosaur bones might not be dinosaur bones at all.

Unlike the first book, I felt like our heroine did a lot less. She didn’t do as much “detecting” as she did in the first book, but at least we did get to see her prowess as a paleontologist. I also didn’t find this book as exciting, I felt the danger was  a little less…dangerous. I guess I just find human/humanoid villains more scary. It was still a very enjoyable book and I will be continuing the series.

Also, I think the author is trying to add some feminist views, by emphasizing equality and respect, into his work which I think is nice. Especially since this story is taking place in the late 1800’s. I also find the strictly professional relationship between the male and female protagonists refreshing. Not every book needs a romance (actually this book has a little, tiny bit of romance, but I’m actually rooting for it).

Score: 5/5

Leave a Reply

