[Mini Review]Ghostly Echoes (Jackaby #3) by William Ritter

28110857

Ghostly Echoes is so far the most exciting of the Jackaby books. Side stories have been resolved, characters and their background stories have been fully developed and stakes have been raised.

Not to generalize, but the conclusions to most of the series I’ve read so far have been a tad predictable. It’s nice to find something like the Jackaby novels that keep me guessing. I don’t have an inkling as to how this series is going to end, and I love it.

I also appreciate that the author has tried to include topics about diversity in his books. There are feminist characters, a transgender character, different races (though in this case they are  non-human races) and how they’re discriminated against, an unwed mother (this takes place in the 1800’s), and others I might have missed. I think that for a younger audience the inclusion of these characters is great. However, I feel the author could have done a better job at making these characters more integral to the story, but I guess it’s nice that the effort was made in a non harmful way.

I highly recommend this series. The writing style is very easy to read and the books are short. It takes me, a slow reader, 2-3 days to finish a book.  Also, some of the supernatural creatures are new to me, which is very fun to read.

Score: 5/5

One thought on “[Mini Review]Ghostly Echoes (Jackaby #3) by William Ritter

  1. Pingback: Sunshine Blogger Award #2 – The Green Onion Blog

Leave a Reply

